USGS Home - www.usgs.gov

This page is archived and is no longer being maintained. Content was last updated in August 2000. For current research, visit http://coastal.er.usgs.gov/

Navassa Island: A Photographic Tour (1998 - 1999)

Navassa Island Home
take a Tour:
take a Tour:
geology | biology | history
or Explore:
fly | sail | hike | scuba
Navassa map
Navassa Location Map
Explore Navassa - History
Phosphorite Mining, Caribbean Beacon
  begin

  book cover - 'The Great Guano Rush'
history of the "Guano Rush"
 
In 1857, the phosphorite on Navassa was mistaken for guano by a U.S. sea captain who laid claim to the island under the Guano Island Act passed by the U.S. Congress in 1855. Between 1865 and 1898 almost a million tons of the phosphorite were strip-mined from the island and shipped to Baltimore by the Navassa Phosphate Co. The island was abandoned during the Spanish American War, but by that time it was firmly established as US territory.

The opening of the Panama Canal put Navassa in the middle of the traffic lanes between the Atlantic and Caribbean, and the Coast Guard built a lighthouse on the island in 1917. Global Positioning Systems eliminated the need for the lighthouse by 1996, and the Coast Guard turned Navassa over to U.S. Department of Interior on January 16, 1997.

History - Photo Index
Maps
    historic map
    historic sketch
Phosphate Mining
    phosphate
    mining ruins
    railroad bed
    rusted boiler
    railroad bed
    mining mound
    railroad bed
Lighthouse
    construction
    complete
    today
    keeper's house

Coastal and Marine Geology Program > St. Petersburg Coastal and Marine Science Center > Navassa Island > History Tour

U.S. Department of the Interior, U.S. Geological Survey, Coastal and Marine Geology Program
http://coastal.er.usgs.gov/navassa/history/index.html
Page Contact Information: Feedback
Page Content Last Modified: August 2000